Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Linkedin Follow us on Google+ Follow us on YouTube

Contact us @ +919535921324


Voluntary Certification and Rating Scheme for Private Security Agencies

“Security sTar Agencies Rating Scheme”

Private Security Industry (PSI) of India is comprised of over 22,000 Private Security Agencies regulated through Private Security Agencies Regulation Act-2005 and the Rules as applicable in the jurisdiction.

Quality Council of India (QCI), India’s apex quality facilitation and national accreditation body, and the Central Association of Private Security Industry (CAPSI), the preeminent organization for security professionals, have signed an MoU to operate a voluntary certification and rating programme for Private Security Agencies. This process of standardization will help the Agencies enhance their credibility and consequently their business.

While QCI and CAPSI shall be the joint Scheme Owners, the governing structure of the scheme shall be under a multi stakeholder Steering Committee and the scheme will be operated on a non-profit but self-sustaining basis. The MSC will be supported by a Technical Committee and a Certification Committee constituted by QCI and CAPSI. It would have a defined consensus based technical criteria laid down for the Private Security Agencies who would be evaluated by competent third party certification bodies, who in turn would be accredited by the National Accreditation Board for Certification Bodies (NABCB), which is part of the international system of equivalence of accreditations and certifications, as per appropriate international standards.

The Scheme is based on a criteria for certification. The developed Technical Criteria specifies the requirements for a quality management system for the management, staffing and operation of a Private Security Agency providing uniformed security guarding services on a static site and/or mobile and patrol basis, at different certification levels.

Certification Levels under the Security sTar Agencies Rating (STAR) Scheme

Level 1 – One Star – Meeting Compliance Requirements

Level 2 – Two Star – Established Compliance Management

Level 3 – Three Star – Consistent Operations

Level 4 – Four Star – Sustained Performance

Level 5 – Five Star – Assured Quality

Level 6 – Six Star – Trusted Excellence

Level 7 – Seven Star – Professionally Managed Security Operations

The requirements applicable for a particular level are the requirements defined for that particular level and of all lower levels.

These capability levels can be used for rating and a basis of voluntary certification and demonstrating the ability of the Private Security Agency to consistently provide security services that meet customer and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements. The ratings and certification would enable a Private Security Agency to provide assurance to the stakeholders of capability at subscribed level and also provide a stepped approach to improvements.